Preseason Award Hit Parade Continues for Ducks As Fall Camp Approaches

The parade of preseason accolades continued for the Oregon Ducks as the date the team will assemble for fall camp approaches.

Senior linebacker Troy Dye and junior defensive tackle Jordon Scott were both named for the second straight season to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list. Awarded by a vote of the Football Writers Association of America, the Nagurski award is given to the top defensive player in collegiate football each season.

Scott and three teammates – Jake Hanson, Shane Lemieux and Calvin Throckmorton – added to the Ducks’ preseason haul when the four were named to the Outland Trophy watch list, also awarded by a vote of the members of the FWAA to the best offensive lineman. Both Scott and Hanson were nominated last year and Oregon’s foursome is tied with Michigan for the number of nominees for the nation’s best interior lineman.

Adding the frosting to the cake, on Wednesday the Ducks placed a conference high 12 players on the Pac-12 preseason teams. Quarterback Justin Herbert along with Dye, Throckmorton and Lemieux were named to the first team with Scott, defensive back Thomas Graham Jr. and offensive lineman Penei Sewell named as second team selections.

Six Ducks were chosen for preseason honorable mention – Hanson, tight end Jacob Breeland, safety Jevon Holland, wide receiver Brendan Schooler, offensive lineman Dallas Warmack and running back C.J. Verdell.